About the ZEV Task Force

On October 24, 2013, the governors of eight states, joined by a ninth on May 3, 2018 and a tenth on November 20, 2019, signed a memorandum of understanding (MOU) committing to coordinated action to ensure the successful implementation of their state zero-emission vehicle (ZEV) programs. ZEVs include pure battery-electric vehicles (BEVs), plug-in hybrid electric vehicles (PHEVs), and hydrogen fuel cell electric vehicles (FCEVs). Collectively, these states are committed to having at least 3.3 million ZEVs operating on their roadways by 2025. The MOU identifies joint cooperative actions the signatory states will undertake, and additional actions that individual jurisdictions are considering, to build a robust market for ZEVs. For more information about the Task Force, see the Multi-State ZEV MOU and Multi-State ZEV Action Plan.

The ZEV States
Plug-in Car


There is a growing number of plug-in vehicle models now available from most major auto manufacturers, although some of them are only offered in select markets.

Car Battery

Charging Stations

There are over 10,000 charging locations now open to the public within the Task Force states. Use the AFDC Station Locator to find charging stations near you.

Car Salesman

Dealer Recognition

Some states have initiated recognition programs for the dealerships who lead the state in overall EVs sold or as a percentage of sales.

Hand with branch

State Initiatives

The ZEV MOU states are taking a wide range of actions to support the deployment of electric vehicles. Learn more about their efforts here.